speedcat86

Hello I am new to this organization. I am looking to start the novice program with you guys in conference. I did my drivers school or HPDE with cascade sports car club and I got the go ahead to apply the novice program. I am not sure if anyone remembers me but I drove a flat black nissan 240sx. I wasn't sure if I was going to have the money to start this season but things are starting to look better and I am looking to see if I can get any guidance on getting started. I bought the driver's attire (helmet, nomex underwear, suit, gloves, and shoes) and now I am seeing what needs to be done with my car aswell. I have talked with a local roll cage builder and looking at getting that done in the next couple of weeks. So any help would be great.

welcome to the fun. dont forget to add a signature so when you do get to meet people you have a chance at putting a name to the poster

Welcome aboard!

Check the Conference rule book (http://www.icscc.com/references/comp_regs_2010_complete.pdf) to make sure that your car meets all the safety requirements. In many classes, the roll cage requirements are the same as what you'll find in the SCCA GCRs (http://cms.scca.com/documents/2011 Tech/2011 GCR-printed version.pdf). Make sure that your roll cage builder is familar with these requirements.

I don't believe that Conference requires (yet) a head and neck restraint (e.g., HANS, DefNder, etc.) but I think it's a really good idea to race with one. They've really gone down in price, too.

Which class will you be racing in once you graduate from the Novice program?

I am thinking the st class is the only class I can be in by the looks of things. The car unfortunately has a lot of aftermarket work done it. But it is what I have and my brother won't let me get rid of it. It was his car previously. But thanks for the links. I'm in math class reading it now. Linear algebra isn't that important anyways.