What do you get out of racing?

Hey all,

I'm at a bit of a crossroads. I've been doing HPDE's for about 4 years now, and I bought a spec miata over a year ago to eventually get into wheel-to-wheel racing. I became a member of CSCC this February actually.

However, i'm beginning to have second thoughts. I watched several races at PIR last year and marvelled at the abuse the SM guys put their cars through. My SM only has a couple qualifys on it and 4-5 hpde's, so its nice and straight :). I expect any car that i track to take abuse, but wheel-2-wheel seems to elevate that to a new level. I've seen cars totalled at hpde's, but those were driver error for the most part. I'm not well-off enough to shrug off thousands of dollars either lol

Its tough to justify having an entire second car sitting around not doing anything most days out of the year as well.

I love doing HPDEs and have no plan to stop, i feel like each event my skills improve, my line gets better, and I become more consistent.

So what's in the leap from HPDEs to wheel-2-wheel that makes it "worth it" to you? Because right now i'm seriously considering rolling my 2 cars back into 1 and just continue with HPDE's.

- nate

Ask not what you can get out of racing, but what racing will get out of you.

Sorry, I couldn't let that one pass.

Not so seriously though. Everything one may get out of racing is only due to what one may put into it. Some guys run limited seasons. They have limited budgets. Some put all they got out there. Dbl the mortgage, sell the kids, everything. Ask these people if they were satisfied with the investment at the awards banquet.

You can't realistically campaign a car that is your daily driver. It's not practical. Stick with HPDE/Autocraze, even drifting if that's enough.

You can rent a racer a couple times to get the real attitude that's out there. Nobody wants to bang up their car. But sometimes thats just racing.