instruction on PIR and PR- suggestions?

djpearce

I am new to the Pro 3 class. I hold a senior license with CACC, but am not familiar with either PIR or PR where I intend to race this year. I don't feel comfortable racing on these courses without having spent a fair bit of time learning the tracks first. Can anyone recommend a good way to get some track time with instruction on these tracks? Are there instructors at the track on the practice days before the weekend races? How about club days - is there a schedule of club practice days? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks
Duncan Pearce

...... Can anyone recommend a good way to get some track time with instruction on these tracks? Are there instructors at the track on the practice days before the weekend races? How about club days - is there a schedule of club practice days? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks Duncan Pearce

Proformance Driving School has "Track Days" at Pacific Raceways. It's not uncommon to see five or eight Pro 3 cars out there doing laps just like day lappers. Guess that's part of why some of the Pro 3 race engines have 160,000 miles on them :) :)

In April (if you look at his schedule) he has an 'intense' 2 day deal for Pro 3 and Spec Miata planned.

http://www.proformanceracingschool.com/schedule?month=jan&yr=2011

ALL of Don's instructors are there on lapping days and you can purchase a session or two with an instructor.

Don't know about Portland but, Don Kitch runs a school down there too. When you call Proformance they can fill you in on the Portland options.

Last edited:
Google earth and youtube.

Look up both tracks on Google Earth so you can get a realistic idea of the track layout, lines etc and then lookup in-car video on youtube such as: "IRDC PR Group5" or PRO3 Pacific Raceways/ PIR"

When I went to ORP for the first time I studied in-car video for hours while holding my steering wheel so I could virtually memorize the track. I paid dividends when I showed up.